Best Book Writing Software in 2026: 8 Tools Compared by the Book You Are Writing
There is no single best book writing software. A memoir that goes to an editor in Word has different needs from a how-to book you will format and upload yourself. A fantasy novel has different needs again.
This guide sorts eight tools by the job they do best. Every price, platform and feature below was read from the vendor’s own page on October 9, 2026. The links are at the end. Where a vendor’s page did not state something, the table says so.
One thing to know first. I make NovelOS Studio, which is one of the eight. It is not the top pick for most of the jobs below, and the guide says where it is the weaker choice.
The short list
All prices are in US dollars, as of October 2026.
| Tool | Best for | Price model | Platforms | Works offline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scrivener | A long book with a lot of research | $59.99 once per platform. iOS app $23.99 | macOS, Windows, iOS | Installed app |
| Vellum | Ebook and print formatting on a Mac | $199.99 once (ebooks) or $249.99 once (ebooks and print) | macOS only | Installed app |
| Reedsy Studio | Free writing and formatting in one place | Free core. Add-ons $4.99 and $7.99 a month | Web browser | Not stated |
| Microsoft Word | Working with an editor or publisher | $9.99 a month, $99.99 a year, or $179.99 once | Windows, macOS, phones, tablets, web | Installed app |
| Google Docs | Writing together at the same time | Free with a Google Account | Web browser | Yes, after setup in Chrome or Edge |
| Ulysses | Clean drafting on Apple devices | $5.99 a month or $39.99 a year | Mac, iPad, iPhone | Installed app |
| Dabble | Fiction that syncs across every device | From $19 a month. $699 once for lifetime | Windows, macOS, Linux, Chromebook, iOS, Android | Yes |
| NovelOS Studio | Planning and writing a novel, bought once | $45 once | Windows, macOS, phone app for iOS and Android | Yes |
“Installed app” means the vendor sells a program you install on the device. “Not stated” means the pages I checked did not say.
Four things that decide it
Settle these before you compare features.
- The kind of book. Non-fiction leans on research, structure and citations. Fiction leans on plot, characters and continuity.
- Who else touches the file. An editor, a co-author or a publisher will often decide the format for you.
- Where the book ends up. A file for an agent, an ebook for the stores, and a paperback each need a different export.
- How you want to pay. Some of these tools are bought once. Some are rented by the month. Two are free.
The sections below follow those four points.
Scrivener: best for a long book with a lot of research
Scrivener is the pick for most people writing a long book of any kind. That covers history, biography, a thesis turned into a book, or a novel with a heavy research load.
It splits a book into small parts that you can move around. The Corkboard shows each part as an index card, and moving a card rearranges the manuscript. The Outliner shows the same structure as a list with word counts. Research sits beside the text: notes, PDFs, images and web pages are stored in the project. Snapshots keep an older version of a section before you rewrite it. Compile exports the result to Word, PDF, ePub and Final Draft.
The licence is bought once. As of October 2026 it costs $59.99 for macOS and $59.99 for Windows. Each platform needs its own licence, and a bundle of both costs $95.98. The iPhone and iPad app is a separate $23.99 purchase. There is a 30-day free trial.
The cost is time. Scrivener has a lot of settings, and Compile takes practice. Writers who want less setup can read our guide to Scrivener alternatives.
Vellum: best for ebook and print formatting on a Mac
Vellum is a formatting tool. You import a finished Word manuscript, choose a style, and it builds the files.
It produces ebooks for Kindle, Kobo and Apple Books, and print files for paperback or hardcover. It sets margins, page numbers, headers and footers for you. The print file is a PDF in the PDF/X-1a:2003 print standard.
Vellum runs on macOS 13 or newer and nowhere else. It is free to download, build and preview a book. You pay when you are ready to publish. As of October 2026, Vellum Ebooks costs $199.99 and Vellum Press, which adds print, costs $249.99. Both are one-time purchases.
That is a high price for one book and a fair one for a writer who publishes several a year. Windows users need a different tool. Our Vellum alternatives post covers the options.
Reedsy Studio: best free tool for writing and formatting
Reedsy Studio is the pick if the budget is zero and the book will be self-published.
Its core writing and formatting features are free. It typesets the book as you write, then exports an EPUB 3 file for ebook stores and a PDF/X-1a:2001 file for print-on-demand. The free plan includes unlimited books and unlimited devices. You can invite a co-author, editor or proofreader into the book.
The limits are in the design choices. Reedsy lists three themes and four trim sizes: 6 x 9, 5.5 x 8.5, 5 x 8 and 4.25 x 6.87 inches. Vellum is the tool to look at if page design matters more to you than price.
It runs in a web browser. Reedsy says there is no dedicated mobile app, though the site works in a phone browser. The pages I checked did not mention offline use, so plan on being connected. Two paid add-ons exist. As of October 2026, one costs $4.99 a month and adds unlimited history, custom goals and advanced stats. The other costs $7.99 a month and adds unlimited planning boards and note templates. More options are in our Reedsy Studio alternatives post.
Microsoft Word: best for working with an editor or publisher
Word is the pick when someone else in the publishing chain sets the rules. Many editors return a manuscript with Track Changes and comments. You then accept or reject each change. If your editor works this way, you will need Word at that stage whatever you drafted in.
As of October 2026, Microsoft 365 Personal costs $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year and includes the desktop Word app for PCs, Macs, phones and tablets. Office Home 2024 is a one-time purchase at $179.99 for one PC or Mac. Word for the web is free with a Microsoft sign-in.
Word treats a book as one long document. It has no place for research or character notes, and no scene cards. It is easy to get lost in a 100,000-word file. Many writers draft elsewhere and export to Word for the edit. Our Microsoft Word alternatives post goes deeper.
Google Docs: best for writing together at the same time
Google Docs is the pick for two or more people working in the same pages. Co-authors, a ghostwriter and a client, or a writing group can all be in the document at once. Depending on the access you give, a collaborator can edit, comment, or suggest changes that you approve.
It is free with a Google Account, which includes 15 GB of storage shared with Gmail and Google Photos.
Offline use takes setup. Google requires the Chrome or Edge browser, the Google Docs Offline extension, and the offline setting turned on while you are still connected. Google also warns that a file that is too large may fail to sync, and suggests splitting it into smaller documents. That is the practical limit for a full book in one file. See our Google Docs alternatives for tools built for long manuscripts.
Ulysses: best for clean drafting on Apple devices
Ulysses is the pick for a writer who works only on a Mac, iPad and iPhone and wants very little on the screen.
It is a markup-based text editor with one library for everything you write. It exports to PDF, Word and ebook formats, and it publishes straight to WordPress, Ghost, Medium and Micro.blog. That last part matters to non-fiction authors who also run a blog or newsletter.
It is a subscription. As of October 2026 it costs $5.99 a month or $39.99 a year, and one subscription covers all your Apple devices. There is no Windows or Android version. It is a general writing app and not a story planner, which our Ulysses alternatives post covers.
Dabble: best for fiction that syncs across every device
Dabble is the pick for a fiction writer who moves between a laptop, a phone and a borrowed computer, and never wants to think about files.
It runs on Windows, macOS, Linux, Chromebook, iPhone, iPad and Android. Every edit saves to the device first and syncs when you are online, so it keeps working without a connection. Sync between devices is real-time. Every plan includes the Plot Grid, a story notebook with character profiles, goals, and co-authoring.
It is the most expensive subscription here. As of October 2026 the Writer plan is $19 a month and the Author plan is $29 a month, with 20 percent off for annual billing. Comments and track changes start on the Author plan. A lifetime Author licence is $699. There is a 14-day free trial with no card needed. Cheaper routes are in our Dabble alternatives post.
NovelOS Studio: best for planning and writing a novel with one payment
NovelOS Studio is the pick for a novelist who wants the plan and the manuscript in one program, wants to pay once, and wants the book kept on their own device.
It costs $45 once. That licence covers Windows, macOS, and a phone app for iOS and Android that installs from the browser. It works offline and needs no account.
The plan lives next to the pages. The Blueprint is a board for scenes and plot points. Characters, places and lore each have a record under Cast & World, linked to the scenes that use them. Smart Import reads a draft in Word, EPUB, Markdown, plain text or PDF and finds the chapters. Book Preview shows the book as pages at your trim size while you write. Publish exports Word, EPUB, PDF, HTML, Markdown, RTF and plain text. Dictation runs on the device. AI is optional and runs on your own Gemini or OpenAI key.
It is built for fiction. A non-fiction author gets the editor, the import and the exports, and will leave the character and world tools unused. Scrivener is the better fit for that book.
Where NovelOS Studio is the weaker choice
These are real gaps, and each one points to a different tool in this list.
- Live collaboration. There is none. Google Docs, Reedsy Studio and Dabble all let a second person into the book.
- Print formatting. The PDF follows your trim size, margins and font, with fonts embedded. It has no bleed, crop marks or CMYK conversion, and far fewer design controls than Vellum.
- Sync. There is no cloud sync. A project moves between devices as one
.novelosfile that you carry across yourself. Dabble and Ulysses sync on their own. - Trying before buying. There is no free tier and no trial. Scrivener gives 30 days, Vellum is free until you publish, and Reedsy Studio and Google Docs are free.
- Voice features in other languages. Dictation, read aloud and audiobook export work for English projects only.
- Community and age. Scrivener and Word have many more tutorials, templates and forum answers.
One tool left out of the table
Atticus is another well-known tool for writing and formatting a book. Its website would not load for my check on October 9, 2026, so it has no row in the table. I would rather leave a gap than repeat an old price. Our Atticus alternatives post describes what it does.
Picks by situation
- A research-heavy book, bought once: Scrivener.
- Self-publishing on a Mac with money to spend on design: Vellum.
- Self-publishing with no budget: Reedsy Studio.
- An editor who sends back tracked changes: Microsoft Word.
- Two authors in the same chapter: Google Docs.
- Apple devices only, with a blog on the side: Ulysses.
- Fiction on many devices with automatic sync: Dabble.
- A novel planned and written offline for $45: NovelOS Studio.
Many authors use two. A common pair is one tool for drafting and Word for the edit. Another is a drafting tool followed by Vellum or Reedsy Studio for the final files. Check that your drafting tool exports Word before you commit, because that file is what the next person will ask for.
If your book is a novel, the choice turns on plotting, character and world tools more than on formatting. Our guide to the best novel writing software compares nine apps on those points.
Sources and further reading
Every page below was read on October 9, 2026.
- Scrivener store: licence prices per platform, iOS price, 30-day trial.
- Scrivener overview: platforms, Corkboard, Outliner, Snapshots, Compile formats.
- Vellum: prices, Mac only, free until you publish.
- Vellum technical specifications: DOCX import, EPUB and PDF/X-1a:2003 output, macOS versions.
- Reedsy Studio: free core, add-on prices, browser only, collaboration.
- Reedsy Studio pricing: free plan contents and add-on features.
- Reedsy book formatting: EPUB 3, PDF/X-1a:2001, themes and trim sizes.
- Microsoft 365 plans: Personal and Office Home 2024 prices, devices.
- Word for the web: free web version.
- Feedback in Word: Track Changes and comments.
- Google Account storage: 15 GB free.
- Google Docs offline: browser, extension and file size limits.
- Google Docs collaboration: editing, comments and suggestions.
- Ulysses pricing: subscription prices and devices covered.
- Ulysses: editor type, export formats, publishing targets.
- Dabble pricing: plans, lifetime price, trial, features per plan.
- Dabble system requirements: platforms and offline saving.
- Dabble sync: real-time sync between devices.
- NovelOS Studio: price, platforms and features.